A good dose of reality won’t ruin your dreams, just test them. (Mrs. Hardisty)

When I was in high school, my band teacher told me I should stop playing clarinet because “they don’t give scholarships for clarinet,” and that I needed to immediately switch to piano. As if. All good scholarships flow from piano, he said. I was confused and torn in all the ways only a high school band nerd could be. Mrs. Hardisty, my fifth grade teacher, had retired from teaching years before, and strangely enough, taken a job as the secretary at the car dealership where my mom sold cars. Mom, being prone to talk as I suppose most moms are, recounted the story to Mrs. H, and that evening I received this hand-scribed note from her.

“A good dose of reality won’t ruin your dreams, just test them. – Mrs. H.”

Wise words even 20 years later. Got any realities testing your dreams lately? I’m finding that sometimes reality exposes the “dreams” you’re chasing aren’t the right ones. How about you?

One thought on “A good dose of reality won’t ruin your dreams, just test them. (Mrs. Hardisty)

Leave a Reply

