Well, technically he invited me to enter a contest where I MIGHT get an all-expenses paid trip to the Affiliate Summit West in January. This post is my entry. If you don’t know who Shoemoney is, go figure it out.

First let me say, I don’t have a sob story and I’m not already a baller. I’m a recovering youth pastor turned WordPress website designer helping small businesses and non-profits find their way in the madness online. Three and a half years ago, I didn’t even know what WordPress or mobile marketing or affiliate marketing or (insert-trendy-marketing-term-here) was. Now, we make ends meet making those things work for small businesses – while my little girl fights dragons and spills her water on the couch next to me. Oh, and I’m also the coordinator for WordCamp Columbus.

.

I couldn’t tell you exactly how it happened, but about three years ago after we got back from Iraq, I found the Passion Project from Paul Pitrowski which led me to Entreprenuers-Journey and Yaro Starak then to Tyler Cruz (where I first learned about affiliate marketing). Thne, of course, I found Shoemoney. It took me a while to find him, but I got there as quickly as I could! Without further adieu, here are the top four reasons he should invite me to the Affiliate Summit.

Why Shoemoney Should Choose Angie Meeker To Join Him At Affiliate Summit West 2012

1. The most obvious: He has yet to have a winner of the female persuasion.

I can’t promise I’ll wear a low-cut, ripped up tshirt with booty shorts (trust me, that would be a hot mess!), but it would be great to report back to the vaginally-blessed affiliate marketers the awesomeness that is the Affiliate Summit West and how they, too, can get a piece of that pie.

2. I am actively working on projects for which I NEED to learn something that will be discussed at the Summit.

When we first started designing websites, we did a few Crime Stoppers websites (you know, where you can submit an anonymous tip when you know something about a crime, then get paid for it). Those organizations are just begging for more sites like the ones we make, so we’re setting up a network of websites for the anti-crime community (some free ad-supported sites, some sites with better features that cost some $$). I have GOT to learn how best to make affiliate advertising work for me on YourCrimeSite.com, an anti-crime network we’re building. The average site on that network will get between 300-600K visits a year. That traffic will add up! Not to mention direct advertising, and creating our OWN affiliate program for the network itself. We’re relaunching in late January – perfect timing to implement some of what I’ll learn at the Summit.

The other area I want to learn more about, but find little information about online, is LOCAL affiliate marketing. I want to know how I can get the candle shop down the road to get into affiliate marketing for their own products so they can turn their raving fans into sales. I asked them once and they said, “We thought about it, but we really want to protect our brand.” WTF does that mean? (I KNOW what it means, but I want to hear from some people who have heard those types of objections before and can help me work through them). Somewhere in me there is a desire to create a local affiliate network and to manage that network… but that sort of discussion is hard to find online.

3. I can barely remember how to play blackjack.

Eh. Who wants to see someone who actually knows what they’re doing toss a couple grand on the table? Let’s get some REAL drama going. Blackjack is the game where you try to get to 21 without going over, right? I might have to call my friend, Jerry to help. He knows card games. If I were to play and win more than $15K, I WOULD definitely get the Shoemoney S tattoed somewhere. My daughter would think I was a real superhero – coolest thing ever! (Speaking of her, would you head over to this contest on Facebook and vote for her? If she wins, we get a big ol’ flat panel tv, an XBox+Kinect, and Happy Feet the game). Thanks! 😉

4. Life change? I’ll give you that.

I’m sure Shoemoney gets emails and videos from people all the time telling how they followed your instructions and now live on a posh beach in the south of France sipping Crystal and getting dark-chocolate-sea-salt-pedicures (I don’t even know if those exist, they just sound fancy). We’re not there yet. Most months our business makes the ends meet from my husband’s job at a local non-profit. Cool job, not-so-cool pay. But it’s because of Shoemoney’s generosity and others like him, their willingness to SHARE what they know, that we’ve been able to make it work. I set my own hours, I’m my own boss, I’m here when my daughter gets home from preschool in the middle of the day. Things are tight, but generally speaking, I have a life many moms and dads dream of. But…

I want more. Affiliate Summit West will help me get there.

