This afternoon Bob and I had lunch at Loops Good Food here in the Fifth by Northwest neighborhood of Columbus. The week before they opened last fall, I stopped by and shot a quick video for our neighborhood blog. I used a $90 Kodak video camera and edited it together using Windows Movie Maker. Today the owner thanked me again and said how much the video helped them get their name out there – within the first two weeks of posting the video and sharing it on few websites, it had over 300 views! They are already looking for a second location!  You can see how simple the video was:

We did another video like this one for a food cart, and within ONE week of posting, the video had been viewed over 250 times and is on its way to 1100!

The owners of the food cart later had this to say,

It will be difficult to put into words how helpful your video was. We are constantly telling people how fortunate we were. It was one of the best things that happened for us. (Leslie’s Creperie)

We went on to develop a website for this company, almost a year after this chance encounter on the street. You can see it here.

I’m not a professional video maker (or whatever those people are called). I don’t have any training in making business promo videos…but I know that VIDEO IS WHERE IT IS AT. If blogging was hot three years ago (and for most businesses, is still pretty new itself), self-produced VIDEO is bleeding edge. How else can you show hundreds of viewers of your product or services so easily? Certainly not the phone book, that’s for sure.

Last year, I designed some websites for the best-selling author Jim Kukral. He was releasing a new book, “Attention! This Book Will Make You Money!” and needed a unique website to match the boldness of the book. He first grabbed the attention of marketers everywhere when he offered a video course on HOW to produce videos for your website.  Jim updated and re-released that Online Video Toolkit this week, and all I say about it is, “Go get it.” I wish I’d had it when I was making those videos above and my own videos for my products. All the questions I’m asked all the time about how to use video on your websites, he answers in depth and so much better than I ever could. Questions like:

  • What equipment should I use and how much will it cost?
  • What will I make videos about?!
  • How do I create screencasts like you do, so I can SHOW people what I’m doing on my computer?
  • Do I have to buy expensive editing software? Is there anything free or cheap I can use online?
  • How and where should I share the videos I make?
  • Do I need special lighting or microphones?
  • Much, much more!

With the exception of my own products and HostGator, I’ve not yet personally recommended a product to you, my readers. There are so many quacks online whose products are junk! I don’t trust most of them! But I DO trust Jim, and I know that if he says he’s going to show you how to video to increase your sales, he’s going to show you better than anyone else will (and, give you a 100% money back guarantee for your $99 purchase, too). There are over 20 videos in the course, AND you’ll get access to a private, members-only forum to work together with others on improving your videos, AND monthly coaching calls with Jim.

Jim’s the real deal. Just this morning I got an email from him asking if there was anything he could help me with. You can purchase the Online Video Toolkit 2.0 here, and you can find Jim on Twitter at www.twitter.com/jimkukral if you’d like to ask any questions before you do.

