Father’s Day 2010

I haven’t written in a long time here, but I think this image will take an explanation longer than Facebook will allow.

Tonight after dinner, Nila and I sat down to make a list of things she wants to do with Bob tomorrow since I’ll be working most of the day. Here’s the list – you can click to enlarge it.

In case you can’t read it (and you can’t), here’s what it says.
1. Play cards. Play checkers.
2. Play dress up.
3. Play something in the basement with Twana and Daddy.
4. Make a smoothie.
5. Play hopscotch.
6. Go to the mall.
7. Go play in his room with him!

In the upper left corner, she wanted me to make sure to tell Bob that “crying makes me hungry.” Last night she cried before bed and didn’t get to wear a dress today because of it… So I think she was thinking about that when she said she wanted to play dress up tomorrow. And, she cried today before dinner when she told Twana to “go back to the basement” when she had to share with him. She ate ALL of her dinner right before we made this list, so I guess she finally realized that crying does, in fact, make one hungry. Anyway, back to the list…

After we got done making this list, she said, “Mommy, can I draw daddy a picture?” So we flipped over the paper and she drew a picture on the back of a face. I asked her if the face was happy or sad. She said, “Sad,” and I asked why, since the face looked happy. She put her head down and said, “Because I miss him. I miss daddy. The face is sad because I miss daddy.”

(insert dramatic pause here)

So then, she perked up and said, “WAIT! There is OOOONNNNEEE more thing!” She flipped the paper over quickly, grabbed my marker and wrote the last three lines of her to do list with daddy herself. You might be able to see the lines if at the bottom (actual lines) that she “wrote.” As she wrote, she spoke slowly as if she was writing and reading and thinking all at the same time.

She said…
I miss him.
Pray for him.
Plenty of exercise.

Leave a Reply

