I never thought it was humanly possible, but this both sucks and blows (Bart Simpson)

I didn’t want to write about this, but I think I should. I just took a pill. A little tiny, 25mg pill. If you’ve been around long enough, you know I am an epileptic (since 2005). For the past year, though, I hadn’t had any seizures and had actually stopped taking medicine at all once we got back from Iraq.

Beginning in March, I started feeling as though I was having auras again. They got worse and worse, until I finally told Bob. We talked about it and decided that it would be best if I didn’t keep working full time at the office. So, I handed in my resignation, and we set about finding my replacement. I told my boss, as I usually do, that I would stay on until he 1) found my replacement and 2) I’d had a chance to train her.

That didn’t happen. I went from having small auras to small seizures, and then morning, I woke up late for work feeling as though I’d been run over by a truck. I came downstairs, and the first thing I asked Bob was, “Did I have a big seizure last night?” He said, “Two. You don’t remember?” I didn’t. Apparently, I’d even fallen out of bed. I was fine – just bit my tongue and was sore. Since then, I’ve realized that I hurt my shoulder somehow, because I can’t lift Nila above my head anymore at all. I had another big one a few days later, and continued to have the smaller ones.

So, I made an appointment with my GP, and he referred me to a new neuro, and ordered an EEG. I haven’t seen the results of the EEG, but I assume they were normal because it usually is. I saw the neuro last week, and at the end of our meeting he said, “Well, from what you’ve told me, you definitely have seizures, real true seizures. So what do you want to do about it?” I said, “What are my choices?” “Well, you really only have one. Medicine. There is brain surgery, but you’re nowhere NEAR bad enough for that! So, since it’s is safe to assume you’re going to continue to have seizures, and I assume that you would rather that didn’t happen, medicine is really your only choice.”

So today I took a pill. I have to start this medicine very slowly – I will not be a full dosage for at least a month. This med also is not the weight loss wonder drug that the other med I took was. It’s weight-neutral, meaning I won’t gain or lose. Too bad about the weight loss, that would be helpful. This neuro actually explained to me what happened with the other med as it relates to weight loss. He said that it blocks the part of the brain that tells you you’re hungry – and instead creates a pre-satiety response (feeling full before you’ve even eaten). Add to that that it blocks the taste recieving part of the brain, and you can see why there was some weight loss! No worries, I will lose the weight on my own this time and be better for it.

So anyway. Just thought I’d share. Those of you who have been around awhile sometimes like to follow this storyline, I guess. Please don’t comment with pity, you know I don’t like that. 😉 Feel free to send helmets and wall padding jokes!

6 thoughts on “I never thought it was humanly possible, but this both sucks and blows (Bart Simpson)

  1. I have no helment or wall padding jokes, but I have to say that the title gave me a good laugh. I’d like to return the favor, but I’m not as witty as you. 🙂

  2. I’m sorry to hear that you’re having problems again. I’ll be thinking about you. But I also know that you will handle this just like you do in everything else in your life. You will pray about it and do what you have to do, for yourself and your wonderful family! I don’t watch Bart Simpson so I don’t understand the relationship, but if you would quote Archie Bunker, then I’d understand, As for wall padding, I have some bubble wrap, want it?

  3. Did I tell you I had a seizure two years ago? I’m on meds. Had an EEG ( my 3rd, so much fun!) to try to go off meds, but my dr saw enough activity that she didn’t think I should go off of them. I really don’t like being on them. They make my brain feel fuzzy a lot of the time. I’m surprised you went off meds at all! The one I’m on wasn’t supposed to cause weight loss, but it did. Maybe you’ll get that one benefit back! You’ll have to buy a smaller helmet. Of course, I’ve gained some of it back. Then you’ll have to buy a different sized helmet. Anyway, all this to say I can relate.

    1. Jessica,
      Do you remember when we were at the conference in IN at the Mexican restaurant? I mentioned how strange I’d been feeling and how I thought (though I didn’t know what they would feel like) that I might be having seizures, though it seemed like just strange sensations? You’re the one who said, “Um Hello. You’re NOT crazy – go to a neurologist. I felt the same way before my MS diag.”

      😉 I ALWAYS remember that night when I think I’m a little wacky, because talking with you that night was the first time I thought I wasn’t actually going insane, and that there might be something medically wrong with me.

      Thanks again (though I never said thanks the first time).

  4. well, funny i just read this because i’ve been thinking about this very thing for a few weeks. of course i’ve not been in touch –my computer gives me 5 minute blocks of time online before i get kicked off and have to restart. needless to say, not very helpful when emails and stuff need to happen. but tonight i’m at the library, and was thinking about you. a friend here had a seizure 2 weeks ago in the store, fell and hit her head on teh shopping cart, then the floor…lost a couple teeth and cracked her face. so there. be glad you have your teeth.

    hope to get to see you guys in a few weeks!

Leave a Reply

