Never Eat Alone

Never Eat Alone: And Other Secrets to Success, One Relationship at a Time

I went to the library last weekend to work on Saturday (I can get a lot done there because it is quiet and sans – bebe). On the way out, I noticed they had a sign which read, “#1 Library in the Country. Again.” So modest, our Columbus Public Library.

Not at all what I intend to write about, just wanted to share. The book above, I’m reading it now and I got it from the library, in case you wanted to follow that rabbit trail.

Here is an excerpt from the book. The author is speaking about how he grew up as a have-not and caddied at a local golf course.

As a kid, I caddied at the local country club for the homeowners and their children living in the wealthy town next to mine. It made me think often and hard about those who succeed and those who don’t. I made an observation in those days that would alter the way I viewed the world.

During those long stretches on the links, as I carried their bags, I watched how the people who had reached professional heights unknown to my father and mother helped each other. They found one another jobs, they invested time and money in one another’s ideas, and they made sure their kids got help getting into the best schools, got the right internships, and ultimately, got the best jobs.

Before my eyes, I saw proof that success breeds success and, indeed, the rich do get richer. Their web of friends and associates was the most potent club the people I caddied for had in their bags! Poverty, I realized wasn’t only a lack of financial resources; it was isolation from the kind of people that could help you make more of yourself.

I would like to provide a commentary on this excerpt, but I’m honestly at a loss for words. If I can get the thoughts together over the next day or so, I will share them here. Otherwise, if you want to provide the commentary yourself…here’s my offer. Get the book from your library or buy it at the link above. Read it, and I’ll invite you to be an author here. You can write your very own commentary here as we read the book together.

Or you can just post in the comments. Whatever.

2 thoughts on “Never Eat Alone

  1. This reminds me of something your Granny always told me. “You are thought of by the people you keep company with”. In other words, if you hang out with brainiacs, it will be assumed you are smart. If you hang out with jocks, you will be thought of as a physically strong person. If you hang out with the hoodlums, people will associate you that way. So here’s what I did. After I tried hanging with the hoodlums, I got a reputation of being a goody-two-shoes so I tried sports. I couldn’t do track or basketball so I tried 3 times for drill team before I made the team. All the marching was too much after one year so I got smarter. I got a job and made money! I think that’s what this author is trying to say. Aim for what you want and think of a way to get there. Hang with the people that can guide you along your path.

Leave a Reply

