There was never a child so lovely but his mother was glad to get him to sleep (Ralph Waldo Emerson)

In my mind, I have not written too much yet about Nila here. I really do restrain myself from telling you about how she can now say dog, door, book, bird, mama, daddy, biwi (Aunt Brandi), go, shoe, sock, be (baby) and more. I haven’t yet told you that can properly identify her hair, head, ears, nose, mouth, eyes, cheeks, chin, teeth (her fav), tummy, knees, toes and herself. I don’t ramble on about how she cleans house by putting her blocks away and using a diaper wipe to swoosh away the dirt; or how every night she pushes her grocery cart back and forth across the living room in some sort of pre-bedtime ritual. I probably haven’t mentioned how one of the first things I taught her was to throw her hands up in the air and party whenever someone says, “WOO WOO!” Or that when she falls down, even if it’s not hard, she’ll stay down to give herself  a few dramatic moments to recover.

So it should be no surprise then that I haven’t talked ad nauseum about her sleeping habits.

See, up to this point, Nila’s bedtime routine has looked like this:

1. I go upstairs to get her pjs, and throw them down to Bob.
2. Bob changes her diaper and puts on her pjs. This usually involves lots of giggling. I’m not sure what makes diaper time so funny, but Nila likes when Bob changes her diaper.
3. Upstairs, I’m doing two things: washing my OWN face and teeth, and getting her bedroom ready for bed. That means filling up her humidifier (daily. our apartment is so dry!). I make sure her stuffed dog (a toy from when Bob was a kid), her monkey (a gift from my mom), and her laughing dolly are all in the the crib. I straighten up, turn on the fan and aforementioned humidifier, put her blankie on the chair where we’ll sit when she comes up, turn off the light then come downstairs.

Now, if you know us, you know that I have breastfed Nila since she was born. Exclusively until she was 9 months old when we returned from Iraq. Then, she started in on solids and hasn’t looked back. But, we continued breastfeeding like the AAP recommends. It has been a good experience, and while I certainly am no breast feeding nazi, we are sure that our dedication to it is the reason Nila is a good looking, strangely healthy, superiorly brained toddler. Nuff said.

I’d read that most babies self-wean around 18 months, and I looked forward to the day when she was just done with it. It appears that day is this week!

I told Bob on Sunday that I was going to start putting her to bed without feeding, and see how that goes. Sunday night, I did the routine all the same, except when we went up to her chair, we snuggled close under her blankie and read a book about baby animals going to bed. Three times. Then, I gave her a BIG hug and BIG kiss, and she cried and held on to my neck, but I put her in her crib nonetheless. She cried for about 40 minutes then went to sleep.

Monday night: same routine. She was asleep within 10 minutes. Tonight, same routine. She was almost asleep before she hit the bed, though she did whine a little as I was leaving the room.

So, I know that not everyone can have the dream child we do, and I don’t mean to sound like one of THOSE parents (though I’m totally being one of THOSE parents, I suppose), but I’m really happy this has been so easy the past few days. I have no reason to expect anything differently from here out – though I know that could change with the wind!

 

Next up. Potty training. Bob said we’re going to have to move soon. Into a house with a bathroom on the first floor. HA Ha ha… Until then…

5 thoughts on “There was never a child so lovely but his mother was glad to get him to sleep (Ralph Waldo Emerson)

  1. Just another sign that Nila has two parents that love her with all of their hearts and that she is a happy, healthly, loveable baby. It’s a shame that all babies in this world aren’t as loved as much as she is. yep, all you gotta do is give them plenty of love, hugs,kisses. sunshine, food and water and they grow up to be just fine.
    So how did it feel to not breastfeed for the night? Wasn’t that a wierd feeling? Your little girl is growing up. I can’t wait to see her.

    1. I’ll give her $50 tomorrow, if she’ll say “grandma”!! I can’t wait to hear her say that!! Mo, I have sent you email, maybe you don’t recognize the email address:
      tls1185@yahoo.com
      Don’t we have a beautiful, and happy, granddaughter????

      1. Are you sending it to AOL or Yahoo? I have about 250 yahoo messages that i haven’t checked since i joined the Stiff person syndrome support group. So try sending it to my aol address. I check that everyday. melena1006@aol.com

  2. I found it sad to stop breastfeeding. It seemed like a really special bonding time. I’m surprised you were able to with your medical issues, but I’m glad it was important to you and you got to do it.

Leave a Reply

