Defining Moments (or less talk, more action)(or planting seeds)

Good Sabbath, everyone. Nila is napping. Bob is still asleep after getting home at (I think) 3 AM. So I have a little time to chat with you this morning. I’m sitting on the couch listening to my Matt Redman channel on Pandora. Probably a little rambling ahead.

About three months ago I read  The Passion Project, Paul P. (Download that pdf and take a quick read). It’s not some self-help psycho babble ebook. It just says, “You should find out what you’re passionate about, and do that.” So I’ve been thinking about it over the past few months. My goal is to actually complete the questions from the ebook by next weekend and share those with you.

Growing veggies and making Nila’s dresses are both somehow related to what I’ve read in that ebook. I think it’s because those are things I’ve been interested in for some time, but haven’t acted on. My grandparents both had gardens, and I loved my time there as a child. The idea of going from a consumer to a producer is very appealing to me, too. And, it will save us some money! Fresh veggies are expensive, yo!

So as long as Bob and I have known each other, we’ve talked of growing things. In fact, Bob’s lifelong dream was (at one point) to be a farmer! But for years now, that’s all we’ve done about it. Talked. “What will we grow? How will we do it? Where will we put them? Who will take care of them?”

The same with the dress. I’ve teased that I could make Nila cute things but again, I wasn’t doing anything about it. The only sewing I know how to do is to thread a needle and go over under! How would I sew anything! In fact, I STILL only know how to do that, but I did learn to thread the needle properly.

Turns out, YOU JUST HAVE TO START. START SOMEWHERE. The day I made the first dress for Nila, Bob said, “Wow. I didn’t really think you’d do it!” I didn’t have to spend any money to do it. Just grabbed an old shirt, needle and thread and went to town. So when I asked to get some fabric from the store to make her other dress, he wasn’t opposed. He said, “Well, you’ve proven you can do it! Why not!?” And I did. So last night when I found a NEW, UNOPENED sewing machine on Craigslist for $30, he wasn’t opposed to getting it because I had shown the inititive to DO SOMETHING. It’s like this: I had to take the step to do the thing in the first place, even if it wasn’t perfect or Kirtsy-worthy.

Everyone has little things they want to do. I don’t know what your things are. But you have to start somewhere in order to accomplish them. Just do SOMETHING.

It’s like Pastor Brad used to say: if you’re faithful in the small things, you’ll be faithful in the big.

6 thoughts on “Defining Moments (or less talk, more action)(or planting seeds)

Leave a Reply

