5 Things to do Before Spring (ONE DOWN!)

Earlier this morning I wrote that I was going to attempt making Nila’s shirt dress. IT’S DONE! I even sewed it instead of using the hemming tape because I couldn’t find it!

Here’s what I need to change on this dress, and do differently next time.

1. Add a ribbon of trip to the top, in between the straps. It’s too low cut, and Nila’s no floozy, you know. A piece of trim would hide her ladyness.

2. Not cut the skirt so wide – It made for a more angular dress than I was looking for.

Otherwise. I kind of love it!

5 thoughts on “5 Things to do Before Spring (ONE DOWN!)

  1. Yeah for you! Looks good on Nila and I know you’re so proud of yourself. I made Ali a pillowcase dress out of a Jordache pillowcase that used to belong to Stacey. I can’t believe I kept it that long. Ali doesn’t wear it, so there went my idea of my granddaughter wearing it. However, I did take a fleece shirt that had burn spots on and made it into a tote bag. Ron and I are like Robert, we never throw anything away.

  2. That is so cute!!!! How did you do that? Do you just cut the
    sleeves off of the shirt and cut the bottom and top? Those straps are HARD to do, aren’t they? Do you have a sewing machine or did you do that by hand? I wish that I could sew. My mom has a picture somewhere where she made her, Kathy and me dresses all the same pattern. It’s really cute. Nila’s dress looks sooo comfortable.
    You did a great job on that! How long did it take you to make it? My sister tried to teach me to sew, but that’s a whole nother story.
    I can see Nila having several of these dresses now. It looks so cute on her!

  3. That is so cute!!!! How did you do that? Do you just cut the
    sleeves off of the shirt and cut the bottom and top? Those straps are HARD to do, aren’t they? Do you have a sewing machine or did you do that by hand? I wish that I could sew. My mom has a picture somewhere where she made her, Kathy and me dresses all the same pattern. It’s really cute. Nila’s dress looks sooo comfortable.
    You did a great job on that! How long did it take you to make it? My sister tried to teach me to sew, but that’s a whole nother story.
    I can see Nila having several of these dresses now. It looks so cute on her!

    The instructions for making the dress are here: http://www.craftster.org/forum/index.php?topic=170402.0

    And mostly I did it just like the instructions say, with the exception of the straps and the trim. The straps weren’t hard – they are just small. No, we don’t have a sewing machine, I did it by hand, but it only took me about four hours to do the whole thing (including cutting up the shirt).

    I will DEFINITELY do it again, and maybe with some variations (straps that tie at the top like a swimsuit, the straps in the original instructions, maybe a little shorter…). It was fun!

  4. Okay, I was wrong!!! I saw the dress on Nila and it is really cute!!! I say you should make some more. Really, all you need to do is move the straps in a bit, and if you’re worried about her showing stuff she shouldn’t, just put a little t-shirt on underneath. It is a really cute dress, the pictures don’t do it justice. Good job!!!!

  5. Wow. I’m impressed.

    The pattern is so cute, I can’t imagine it as a dress shirt for Robert. It looks like it was meant to be Nila’s dress.

    I seriously need to learn how to sew. ASAP. Thanks for posting the instructions. I was hoping you would. 🙂

Leave a Reply

