Flashback

When I was in high school, I was friends with a pair of cousins named “Jan” and “Daryl.” They were much older than I was (I was 13, they were in their early twenties). Daryl lived across the street; Jen was always around. We went everywhere together. I remember one time I was napping on the couch in the back of our house, and I woke up to Jan sitting two inches in front of my face, whispering, “Angie… ANGIE!! Wake up…” Noone else was home. We were friends like that – she could just come into the house anytime, and it wasn’t creepy. At all. Like it sounds.

Anyway, I digress. Jen and Daryl were two of the youth leaders at our church. Not THE leaders, just leaders. About three years after we met, Jen started slowly slipping off the radar. She had met a guy she really liked, and we assumed it was because she was spending more and more time with him.

Then one day, I got a letter from Jen. It said how she was so sorry that she couldn’t continue our friendship, and how ashamed she was to have to do this… but that she and her boyfriend had slept together and she just couldn’t continue our friendship after that. She said she felt like she’d be lying to me everytime she saw me, because they had no intention of stopping. I don’t know what else to say, except that it was really strange.

There is no more to this story, really. We were driving tonight, and I saw a woman who resembled Jen quite a lot, and that woman made me think of Jen and I thought I’d share.

2 thoughts on “Flashback

  1. I remember Jen and Daryl. I think that Jen did that just about the same time that you signed an oath that you would not have sex until you were married and she was the one who helped you make that decision. She would have been hypocritical to you if she continued her friendship with you and she understood that. It’s a shame too, but she was a wonderful person. She was a great role model for you and Joe. I’ve often wondered whatever happened to them. I know that Daryl got married and had a child, but then we lost contact with them after that. You’re right, it wasn’t odd that you two were best friends even with the age difference. It felt totally normal to always have them around. I think that they both would be very proud of how you turned out. They were truly wonderful people. I wonder if we could google them and find out where they are and contact them. I also wonder what happened to the other couple that you used to hang with. I can’t remember their names though. They were a middle age couple. Myra I think was her name. Funny how sometimes, someone from your past just pops into your mind and then you can’t get them out of there until you realize how much they meant to you and how much you miss them.

Leave a Reply

