Faithfully imitating.

We’ll give thanks to You with gratitude
For lessons learned in how to trust in You
That we are blessed beyond what we could ever dream
In abundance or in need
And if You never grant us peace …
But, Jesus, would You please …

I don’t often wax poet here at Not In Kansas. I hope that most of you appreciate that about me. But listen.

Do you ever have a glimpse of your future and just know that if you … what did Hybels used to call it… your Defining Moment? Did you ever look at where you were headed and have a defining moment? I’m not talking about wishful thinking, or feigning optimism, or regretful righting. I mean, really. That “vision of what could be and should be and will be and must be,” that Stanley talked about in Visioneering?

I started to talk about this when I asked The Number One Question, but never answered myself. I don’t think I’m ready to do that now, either, but you should know that I’m thinking about it.  It’s on my mind. Your purpose and defining moments are on my mind, too.

Have you had a defining moment? Wanna pray for a defining moment?

5 thoughts on “Faithfully imitating.

  1. Yeah, but they usually freak me out, and come true, no matter what I do to avoid them. I know you’d think those moments would be something of encouragement or excitement at least, but no, it’s more like–Are you freakin’ serious?! Come on!

  2. Seems like everytime I think that I can’t be surprised by something that God does, He comes through with something totally off the wall that I had no idea that He had planned for me or one of my loved ones. He never ceases to amaze me.

  3. Yeah, I’ve had several such moments. For me, they usually seem to come when I’m meeting with other believers. These moments of clarity don’t come very often, but when they do, I’m amazed at how much God seems to reveal to me in a short time. I see more clearly what I should be doing and how I should be doing it. This is sometimes convicting, but usually encouraging, as well.

Leave a Reply

