The Number One Question…

“The first question you must ask yourself is:

 

“What would living with purpose feel like to me?”

If you’re truly honest with yourself, your definition will be accurate and it can always evolve over time. Remember, I am not asking you to write down what your purpose in life is right now. You don’t know that yet. I’m simply asking you to define what it would FEEL like *IF* you were living your life on purpose. Take the best guess you can. There is no right or wrong answer here. Just think about a point in your life where you felt like you were absolutely at the right place at the right time and you felt you were doing what you’re supposed to be doing. It will come to you. “

Can you share your answer?

Some time ago, Bob and I set out to answer some questions about our future, and one of the things I said was that I wanted to live “on purpose.” Bob was terribly frustrated at that because “on purpose” didn’t speak to him personally. Not that he doesn’t want to live WITH purpose, but living “on purpose” didn’t shout to him. It doens’t have to for you, either, but can you answer the question above? What would living with purpose feel like to you?

I WILL dialog about this when I see that people are actually still reading! 😉 so feel free to post away!

5 thoughts on “The Number One Question…

  1. I think you said it in your post. For me, it’s when I’m a point in life where I feel like I’m in the absolutely right place at the right time, doing the right thing.

    For me, it also encompasses fulfilling the “task” of the moment, if that makes any sense at all. I can be in the right place at the right time, but unless I’m doing the work I should be, it’s not entirely right.

    Purpose, to me, means not just floating around in life, but being intentional. That can include many things, such as intentionally getting to know your neighbors and intentionally living in a way that shows Christ so that you don’t have to say “I’m a Chrisitian” because they will see that in the way you live.

    Who was it that said, “Minister at all times. Use words when necessary”? In a simple way, that’s living with/on purpose.

  2. Great Question — and easy and fun to answer. I just look to see what one of my most ‘on purpose’ days feels like and I find these words fit:

    Freeing, joyful, a lot of fun, fulfilling, focused, feel like I’m in the flow of life, often feel unstoppable, creative, even with moments of feeling wise beyond my years.

    Thanks for the question.

  3. I feel like the last time I was living with a purpose was when I was a cub scout leader and having a houseful of kids. I remember one of your friends who had never received a hug from her grandparents who were raising her (they gave her every toy available, but no hugs). I remember the first time I gave her a hug and her face lit up. I still have the “Worldest Greatest Mom” little statue that she gave me. So I guess that I was at my most happiest, useful, living a life like I felt that God wanted me to was when I was helping so many children feel love. Obviously it stuck, JR is still around 22 years later. LOL Also working at the Boys and Girls club felt right. I know that I helped a lot of children develop self-esteem at an early age. I wish that I had the energy or ability to do some of the same things again. Making a difference in just one child’s life is the most fulfilling feeling that I can think of right now.

  4. To me it feels like high highs and low lows because it requires my passion to come alive–which often times can be very hopeful or very discouraging. So passionate I guess is the bottom line feeling.

Leave a Reply

