06.27 | Love.

Love

 1If I speak in the tongues[a] of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. 2If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. 3If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames,[b] but have not love, I gain nothing.

 4Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

 8Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. 9For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10but when perfection comes, the imperfect disappears. 11When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me. 12Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

 13And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

I am so unworthy of being called someone who knows how to love. Look at these verses. Patient, kind, doesn’t envy, doesn’t live for itself (or “is boastful” some translations say), doesn’t get angry easily or keep a checklist of what others have done wrong. It loves the truth. It PROTECTS, TRUSTS, HOPES, and PERSERVERES. I can’t even imagine who I would be if I even TRIED to LOVE like this. I think THAT Angie would look nothing like THIS Angie. I have been so convicted by these verses lately; they are just so plain and in your face. If you don’t do these things; if THIS isn’t the fiber of who you are…you don’t LOVE. You’re loud and obnoxious and worthless in the Kingdom, despite any good work you might do. If I don’t LOVE (as this defines it), I AM nothing and I HAVE GAINED nothing.

Seriously guys, it’s been crushing me lately – these verses (um maybe humbling would be a better word). I’m sure that it’s the Spirit of God calling me to be someone closer to Him, and who can bring more of who he is to earth. I know that you’ll be tempted to say, “OH NO! You’re a REALLY loving person,” but you don’t know ME. God does (and some of you wouldn’t be tempted to say that anyway). THIS Angie isn’t bringing Jesus’ love to anyone like this. I have so much to learn. May God continue to speak to me about Love.

One thought on “06.27 | Love.

  1. I think that you are getting to the age where you begin to question and reassess who you are and where you “fit” in. Part of real love is accepting it. I think that there have been times that you took it for granted that God loved you, that you felt as though you didn’t earn it. But real love is just that. It is love. You don’t “do” anything to deserve Nila or Robert’s love, they just love you. That doesn’t mean that you don’t try your hardest to become better at earning their love, the same way as you feel as though you have to “earn” God’s love. But the thing of it is, they are going to love you. Period. God is going to love you because he created you for him to love. Robert is going to love you more every day as he gets to know you. Nila is going to love you more everyday because you are going show her love. So yes, love is love. That is one thing that you don’t have to worry about right now,Angie. It’s not something that you do, it’s something that you are. That’s the way God made you. Whether you recognize it or not. So go fret about something else today. Love is not one of the things on your list that you should be assessing over. You have it and you give it. I don’t mean to dismiss your feelings, but jeez, it’s like comparing apples to oranges.

Leave a Reply

