06.17 | It’s all geometry.

That’s what Cali said she drew out the dimensions of my haircut on a piece of paper with a line drawing of a bald head. Earlier this week, I scheduled a free hair cut with a stylist at Kenneth’s Hair Academy in Dublin, and today was my cut.

I went the Aveda Academy downtown last year, right before we left for Iraq to have my hair cut by a training stylist. Let’s just say that it was the best $26 haircut I’d ever gotten, but still, it wasn’t good. So, I wasn’t HOPEFUL today, but I didn’t expect it would be terrible, either.

I actually REALLY like it! My hair has been growing out (almost to my shoulders), but it just looked a mess. The first week I was home from Iraq, I got it cut at my normal fancy salon downtown, but for some reason, I just didn’t like it this time. So today, when I went to see Cali (not her real name, btw, Jennifer is her real name. Cali is her “salon name”) I told her, “Please. Can you help it to not be so BIG on top and crazy at the bottom. I mean, I know I’m growing it out but I don’t need to look like a shaggy dog while that happens.”

And so she started looking, stretching out my layers and sketching on the paper what cut she thought would look good. She explained it to me, and then to her instructor…then we washed, cut and cut and cut and cut and cut and then dried it. TWO HOURS later, I was done and left with a cute (but shorter) cut that is slightly angled towards the back. I really like it, because I feel now like all of the layers still there can grow out more evenly. It no longer feels like I have one head of hair up top and another towards the bottom.

If you live in Columbus and want a good free haircut, check out craigslist and search the beauty section for “free.” All of the “Dublin upscale salons” listed with Tara, Jennifer, Chelcie or Cali at this same salon. I think in a few weeks I’m going to have hightlights done there (for free!!). Yeah for me. 

2 thoughts on “06.17 | It’s all geometry.

  1. Congrats! A good haircut can make you feel soooooooooooo good. I can’t wait to hear about the highlights. Post photos if/when you can!

  2. Hey if they have that on Craigslist in Columbus, I be that they have one in Houston or Galveston. I really need a good haircut for FREE

Leave a Reply

