06.07 | I Have To Believe

I Have To Believe by Rita Springer (click to go to download)

I have to believe that He sees my darkness
I have to believe that He knows my pain
I have to lift up my hands to worship
Worship His name

I have to declare that He is my refuge
I have to deny that I am alone
I have to lift up my eyes to the mountains
It’s where my help comes from

He said that He’s forever faithful
He said that He’s forever true
He said that He can move mountains
And if He can move mountains
He can move my mountain
He can move Your mountain too

I have to stand tall when the wind blows me over
I have to stand strong when I’m weak and afraid
I have to grab hold, hold of the garments
Garments of praise

I have to sing praise when the hour is midnight
He unlocks the chains that bind up my soul
My sin and my shame, He has forgiven, and made me whole

I have to believe…

I have been reading and thinking and praying the past few days. About joy. About people taking mine. About how joy is found only in Christ and how my joy has shrunk to the size of a mustard seed lately. And I’ve been thinking that a lack of joy in the end is a lack of belief that God can do (and be) who he says he is (on the positive, encouraging side of things), OR a lack of the fruit of the Spirit on the other, more corrective side. If the Spirit of God is in me and being allowed to have his way, then JOY will abound. A hundred times I’ve told people that joy is deep – happiness is superficial. Joy is about Jesus. Somewhere along the way I ditched joy for happiness, and found that I wasn’t HAPPY, either.

These verses in Galatians 5 are very encouraging to me this week. They remind me to drop the yoke of slavery that is my own pursuit of happiness, and to take up again Jesus’ yoke, which is much lighter and easier and leads to a closeness with the Father counts on him for everything he is.

1It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.

16So I say, live by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the sinful nature. 17For the sinful nature desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the sinful nature. They are in conflict with each other, so that you do not do what you want. 18But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under law.

19The acts of the sinful nature are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; 20idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions 21and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.

22But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. 24Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the sinful nature with its passions and desires. 25Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit. 26Let us not become conceited, provoking and envying each other.

 

3 thoughts on “06.07 | I Have To Believe

  1. But why? What happened to your joy? Where did it go? Either you know that you have it or you’re faking it. When I tell my friends that I KNOW that I have a one way ticket to heaven already paid for with His blood. They look at me and say “You really are that sure?” I answer “Of course, without a doubt. God did that because he loves me.” And then they say, “I wish I was that sure.”
    You, Angela of all people should KNOW how much God loves you and that should start your day with joy and fill your day with it. Because you KNOW!!!. Everything else can be classified as situations that make you happy, but having the JOY that you KNOW God loves you is what real joy is. Either you know it and have it or you don’t. And if you don’t, then you need to get it back. I mean Angie, I don’t meet that many people who are God’s good side like you are!

  2. so, yes. i know how you feel. it’s not easy to Follow sometimes when things don’t make sense. one thing He said to me many years ago, that has really stuck with me, is this: All i am asking is that you believe Me, no matter what.

    so, no matter what things look like, i only have one place to go. the joy is in His presence, no matter what.

    you are precious!

Leave a Reply

