05.02 | The Final Quest, Pt. 3

A Tragic Mistake

Some who had stayed on the lower levels began picking up the enemy arrows and shooting them back.  This was a tragic mistake.  The demons easily dodged the arrows and let them hit the Christians.  When a Christian was hit by one of the arrows of Accusation or Slander, a demon of Bitterness or Rage would fly in and perch on that arrow.  He would then begin to urinate and defecate his poison upon that Christian.  When a Christian had two or three of these demons added to the Pride or Self righteousness he already had, he began to change into the contorted image of the demons themselves.

 

We could see this happening from the higher levels, but those on the lower levels who were using the enemy’s arrows could not see it.  Half of us decided to keep climbing, while the other half descended back to the lower levels to explain to those still on them what was happening.  Everyone was then warned to keep climbing and not stop, except for a few who stationed themselves on each level to keep the other soldiers moving higher.

 

Safety

When we reached the level called “The Unity of the Brethren,” none of the enemy’s arrows could reach us.  Many in our camp decided that was as far as they needed to climb.  I understood this because with each new level the footing was more precarious.  However, I also felt much stronger and more skillful with my weapons the higher I went, so I continued climbing.

 

Soon my skills were good enough to shoot and hit the demons without hitting the Christians.  I felt that if I kept going higher I could shoot far enough to hit the leaders of the evil horde who stayed behind their army.  I was sorry that so many had stopped on the lower levels, where they were safe but could not hit the enemy.  Even so, the strength and character that grew in those who kept climbing made them great champions, each of which I knew would destroy many of the enemy.

 

At each level there were arrows of Truth scattered about which I knew were left from those who had fallen from that position.  All of the arrows were named after the Truth of that level.  Some were reluctant to pick up these arrows, but I knew we needed all that we could to destroy the great horde below.  I picked one up, shot it, and so easily hit a demon that the others started picking them up and shooting them.  We began to decimate several of the enemy divisions.  Because of this, the entire evil army focused its attention on us.  For a time it seemed the more we achieved the more we were opposed.  Though our task seemed endless, it had become exhilarating.

 

The Word Is Our Anchor

Our swords grew as we reached each level.  I almost left mine behind because I did not seem to need it at the higher levels.  I finally decided that it had been given to me for purpose, so I had better keep it.  I drove it into the ground and tied myself to it while I shot at the enemy.  The voice of the Lord then came to me, saying: “You have used the wisdom that will enable you to keep climbing.  Many have fallen because they did not use their sword properly to anchor themselves.” No one else seemed to hear this voice, but many saw what I had done and did the same thing.

 

I wondered why the Lord had not spoken to me before I had made this decision.  I then had a sense of knowing that He had already spoken this to me somehow.  Then I perceived that my whole life had been training for this hour.  I was prepared to the degree that I had listened to the Lord and obeyed Him throughout my life.  I also knew that for some reason the wisdom and understanding I now had could not be added to or taken away from while in this battle.  I became profoundly thankful for every trial I had experienced in my life, and sorry for not appreciating them more at the time.

 

Soon we were hitting the demons with almost perfect accuracy.  Rage rose from the enemy army like fire and brimstone.  I knew that the Christians trapped in that army were now feeling the brunt of that rage.  Unable to hit us they were now shooting at each other.  With his arrows now ineffective against us, the enemy sent the vultures to attack.  Those who had not used their swords as anchors were able to strike down many of the vultures, but they too were being knocked from the ledges where they were standing.  Some of these landed on a lower level, but some fell all the way to the bottom and were picked up and carried off by the vultures.

 

2 thoughts on “05.02 | The Final Quest, Pt. 3

  1. I felt that if I kept going higher I could shoot far enough to hit the leaders of the evil horde who stayed behind their army. I was sorry that so many had stopped on the lower levels, where they were safe but could not hit the enemy. Even so, the strength and character that grew in those who kept climbing made them great champions, each of which I knew would destroy many of the enemy.

    It is easy for me to “stay at the lower levels,” safe. It takes discipline to be strong enough to function at a place where God can really use you. There ARE things you have to do, as much as I sometimes like to think that I’ve already reached that place.

  2. Just catching up on your blog a bit. Wow, powerful stuff! Thanks for posting this series. It was something I needed to hear.

    Welcome back to the U.S., by the way!

Leave a Reply

