05.01 | Rest in Peace, Fatty.

Me in 2005

Do you remember her? I do. She was me in 2005 at 220. (i’m not ashamed to say that). Since then, Ive lost between 80 and 100 pounds, (depending on when you’re checking). I started losing weight about two months before I had my first seizure in 2005 – maybe 15 pounds. Some people think that my meds caused all of my weight loss, but it’s not true. I asked my Dr. along the way if it was the medicine, and he said the avg. weight loss from that med. is 7 pounds; a severe loss would be about 17. My lifestyle did change a that time, though. The seizure medicine helped – when i first started taking it, it made food not have a taste really, so I didn’t want to eat very much. I DID eat, i just ate differently. And I stopped being allowed to drive, which meant cooking at home; no more daily runs for fast, conveinent food. I stopped drinking anything other than water and lemonade, and drank a ton of water (per Dr.’s orders to keep from getting the kidney stones which my medicine can cause). It wasn’t rocket science really…I just ate less and better and moved a little.

Bob and I were talking last week and he said that i still have the eating habits of a fat person. At first I disagreed, thinking that if I ate like a fat person, i would still be really fat! But he explained: I still eat ice cream, cookies, cake, chicken sandwich with french fries, chips, etc… junk basically. I eat in moderation mostly (except cake), so it doesn’t turn me into the fatty I once was, but they’re a regular part of my diet.

Yet that’s not really good enough, i think. Fatty up there WILL return if I don’t change MORE. More veggies, more fruit, more grain, more water. Less everything else. Excercise. I want to avoid all of the health problems in my family (heart disease, cancer, poor bones, diabetes) but that’s not going to happen just because I lost a little weight, you know? it is not acceptable to slowly allow Fatty to return simply because I CAN eat in moderation. I’m better than that now, and I deserve healthy, not just thinner, too.
 

One thought on “05.01 | Rest in Peace, Fatty.

  1. Wow, I didn’t realize how much you looked like me then. I mean now you look like me when I was younger and thin like you. And you looked like me when you were a big girl.
    I don’t know, but I know that my meds have definately changed my appetite and the doctor said that was a side affect of the meds. I’ve lost 30 lbs since Jan.. I’m never really hungry, so I have to remind myself to eat. I DO make sure that I eat at least once a day now. Before I would go 2-3 days without eating.I’d go buy groceries and they would just go bad because I wasn’t eating. So I’ve just cut back on what I buy at the store now. A loaf of bread will last me three weeks and by then it’s too stale to use. It’s a waste of money to buy food.It hurts my stomach if I eat now. So that’s why I have to force myself to eat. I also think that a lot of weight that i lost was because i stopped drinking Budweiser! I think that I’m starting to level out now though. I don’t think that I’ve lost any more weight this month.Maybe another 2 or 3 lbs. But it really pissed me off that finally after 8 years, I bought new jeans and now I have to wear a belt to keep them up. But Angie, you are beautiful no matter what size you are. But the one thing that will always be big about you….is your heart.
    Oh, and I knew about your plans for CA a long time ago. I was just didn’t know how you were going to support yourselfs there. So you’ll still be living off of donations. That’s cool that you have a place to live when you first get there. That’s going to make the transistion a lot easier. Sounds like I need to make a road trip to CA. I think that I was headed there when I made the pit stop in TX. Maybe in Oct or so, I’ll be able to make it out there. I wish that I could see you when you are in OH, but it would probably be more convienent to come see you when you have you’re own place anyway. There’s no room at the inn in OH. So, I’m looking forward to seeing you in the fall. We’ll see if my Rolls Canhardly can do it!

Leave a Reply

