09.17 | What If I Stumble?

Remember I said that I haven’t heard from my dad or my grandpa yet in regards to my being pregnant? I found out why today when they called. My dad and his wife are getting a divorce.

Because his wife stabbed him two months ago and is now facing felony assault charges this week..and he’s had his hands full with all that led up to that point.

Yeah. I kid you not. His wife stabbed him. Like I said, I will remember always that I have been grafted onto a New Branch, but I am truly sad for him and PRAY that he somehow stays safe (and ALIVE) in the midst of what he described as “the worst time of his life.”

Somehow, (and I don’t mean to make light of HIS situation)… there is another situation happening right now on the periphery that makes me want to talk about biblical conflict resolution. Kevin, the senior pastor at East Lake, one of the churches I used to work at, was such a stickler about this. He was the first pastor to just drill this process into my brain and heart: Matthew 18, and there is NO other way to resolve a problem with another believer (and really, the general process works with not-yet-believers, too. Or at least, it’s better than stabbing them).

Matthew 18v15-17 (New Living Translation)
15“If another believer sins against you, go privately and point out the offense. If the other person listens and confesses it, you have won that person back. 16 But if you are unsuccessful, take one or two others with you and go back again, so that everything you say may be confirmed by two or three witnesses. 17 If the person still refuses to listen, take your case to the church. Then if he or she won’t accept the church’s decision, treat that person as a pagan or a corrupt tax collector.

Does that make sense to anyone else but me? Go FIRST to the person who has offended you. Oh, and if the person hasn’t offended YOU personally, keep your mouth shut because it doesn’t concern you. Otherwise you’re gossipping and check out Prov 6v16-19, the seven things the Lord hates and tell me if they’re not terribly close to the traits of a gossip?

*Sigh* So much damage is done at the hands (and tongues) of people who will not simply follow Matthew 18 first. I hope and pray that as Bob and I raise Nila up, we will model this for her, and teach her this. Well, I hope that we can live it out between ourselves and to others first, and that she’ll SEE it, and know that it works because it’s holy and then when we teach it to her she’ll know that there’s some TRUTH to it.

Any thoughts?

3 thoughts on “09.17 | What If I Stumble?

  1. In Light of some recent events Matthew 18 is a struggle because we have asked for clarification and have been met with silence. So I don’t know. Also, I have a family member who disagrees with some things I do…or have done in the past but chooses to punish me by telling my sister stuff and not me. So right now….Matthew 18 is a struggle. Though i am trying to wrok/pray thorugh it all.

  2. Very important topic, and I’m glad you posted on it. Matthew 18 does seem to be one of the key Bible passages on dealing with conflicts. However, I would like to point out that there are some others as well. Sometimes if the sin is public, it seems that the rebuke should be public too; we see that in Galatians 2:11-14. But like you said, I know of no Biblical example where gossiping is okay.

    There are so many tough situations out there. They can be so hard to deal with, but following the Biblical principles can certainly help.

    Thanks again for posting on this.

  3. I really am sorry to hear about your dad and I hope he recovers well. He waited 20 years before he remarried, so it’s a shame that it ended like this.

Leave a Reply

