09.13 | Captain’s Log

Last night at 1:30 AM, while trying to get Nila to sleep, Robert and I studied the miracle of Jesus turning water into wine. You might remember how much Robert likes this particular passage from last year’s Open Letter to Alcohol. Maybe 1:30AM isn’t the best time to do a Bible study though, because by the time we were done, we had deduced that the REASON Jesus said, “Woman, what’s that got to do with us? My hour has not yet come…” is because he was too drunk to care about what she was telling him. She never asked him to make more wine, he just did it – have you ever noticed that? So maybe it then dawned on him to make some more or else his OWN “interest” in the party was over…because “his hour had not yet come” (read: he wasn’t quite drunk off his holy butt yet). It could still read that way at 9AM. It probably shouldn’t, but it could.

In other wedding related news, Robert and I are looking forward to eating our anniversary-topper from our wedding cake NEXT Saturday (the 22nd). Crazy! It’s been a year already. Man, it’s been so good, even when it’s been hard.

To segue again… if you’ve called, emailed or skyped me the past two weeks and I haven’t returned your message, I’m sorry. I am busy and I’m kind of not busy… In between feeding Nila (literally, that takes up about 7-8 daylight hours and another 4-5 nighttime hours), I still have things to do around the house inbetween her naps and feedings…and I myself am trying to get some sleep (oh and eat and shower) since I’m only getting a spotty three hours at a time throughout the night. So I’m really not ignoring you, I’m just trying to get it all in, and unfortunately (truly) returning calls or talking on the phone isn’t making the list somehow. But I’m WANTING to return the calls and talk and catch up. Maybe today will be the day?

But right now, I need to go take a shower…

2 thoughts on “09.13 | Captain’s Log

  1. No need to explain. We understand.

    Isn’t it amazing how much time it takes to feed an infant? I know you’re Superwoman and all that (you know, short labor, 2 pushes, and so on), but do please try to take care of yourself. Accept offers of help with things around the house so you can get rest, too. Making milk takes a lot of energy! 🙂

    I never thought of the “water to wine” story in that context. Hmm. Will have to think on that.

    Hugs to all!

Leave a Reply

