08.02 | McYummy McBroccoli Salad

When I was in California, my friend Norma made this broccoli salad a few times for us, and it was so good, I asked her for the recipe a few weeks ago. Today, I finally made it and I could seriously eat the entire bowl in one sitting, it’s that good (just like I remember it). Way better than anything at McDonald’s that’s for sure. Here’s the recipe in case you want it, just as Norma wrote it to me (though today I only made half of this, I used small peanuts instead of almonds because I didn’t have any, didn’t use raisins or onions! and it was still great! I wish I had used raisins because I like them).

“Here is the original recipe which serves 6-8.  I omit the raisins beccause “Dr.” Phil doesn’t like raisins; I often omit the bacon because it is a lot of trouble and it gets soggy quickly; and I’ve never tried adding green onions!  You may create your own recipe, but I think the dressing is the key.”

Broccoli Salad
1 head broccoli, chopped (not cooked)
2 cups red grapes, halved for easier eating with a fork!
1 cup raisins (omit?)
1 cup celery chopped
1 pkg. almonds, slivered & toasted
1/2 lb. cooked bacon (or omit)
Green onions to taste (or omit)
Dressing:    1 cup mayonnaise    1/2 cup sugar (or sweetener)    1 tablespoon vinegar
Mix all ingredients and refrigerate.

Leave a Reply

