07.17 | Of drillbits and other lovely things.

Last week I got the bright idea to pitch a website redesign to a company I had interviewed with about a year and a half ago (for a position I didn’t get, but thought up to the point that the owner TOLD me I didn’t get it that I was going to, basically because he led me to think that). So, I emailed the owner to ask if he’d be interested in a new site because his old one needed to be redone (still), and even sent over a PDF of what it could look like (nothing fancy or final, just a quick thing I put together). He emailed back and said, “Hey, that looks great, what would you charge?” I was surprised that he even said that, so I worked up a quote for a fairly extensive 30+ page site, quoted for way less than I’ve done similar sites (for a variety of reasons, none of which I really want to go into here), and for a price WAY, WAY below what a professional firm or designer would charge. Even still, I can’t say I was surprised when he emailed me back and said that “he’d continue to do the site himself” BUT “how much would I charge per hour for training?”

?? I went ahead and gave him a per hour figure, but the reality is that 1) that per hour figure is the same per hour figure I charge for designing sites, and 2) he uses a WYSIWYG site editor, and I told him that I’d design the site using that… Unfortunately, he already knows how to USE his site editor. There’s nothing I can teach him that he doens’t already know how to do. He just doesn’t have an eye for design, or for thinking through what site visitors would be looking for (which is very obviously shown by his current site). Mostly now, I don’t even want to work with him because I think what he wants is for me to come sit with him for a few hours and TELL him what I would have done, rather than hire me to actually do it.

So anyway, after being frustrated by that this morning, I decided to call a dentist this afternoon. I have had a toothache for a few days. I think maybe I chipped a tooth a few days ago, one of my back ones? Maybe, I don’t know. But even if that’s not what it is, I need to see the dentist before the baby is born. I have cavities! Ick. So, next Tuesday at 9:30, I’ll be at my intial exam and cleaning, and then I’m sure I’ll be going back after that. Woo hoo.

And I know this is going to sound crazy, but I think I have eaten myself out of wanting ice cream. I can’t belive that’s even possible, but it’s true. I knew it was happening when I was eating an Oreo Blizzard the other day. It just wasn’t good anymore, and I was thinking, “This is it. No more ice cream. I don’t want it anymore.” I suppose that’s happened before with other food. Taco Bell in particular. My junior year, we used to have Taco Bell every Sunday after church and I really liked it. Now, I couldn’t care less if I EVER have it (not that I HATE it though). So…we’ll see. I’d sure hate to not want ice cream again! oh love of my life, ice cream!

One thought on “07.17 | Of drillbits and other lovely things.

  1. I totally agree on Taco Bell. At some point, I did the same thing.

    Wow… I can’t imagine an Oreo Blizzard not tasting good. How much ice cream have you been having, anyway? I’ve been trying to pace myself. My neighbor, on the other hand (who is due, I believe, about the same time you are) eats a bowl of ice cream -every- night and has been doing so for a few months now.

    Sorry to hear about the website design stuff. That really stinks. My former boss was something like that. They want something to look fantastic, as if they spent a great deal of money to make it look that great – HOWEVER – they don’t want to pay even pocket change for it. Kind of like having champaign taste with a beer budget, but IMO, in business, sometimes it’s best to suck it up and PAY for something to look nice, because if you don’t, it looks it.

    Hopefully, you can find some freelance work with people who actually VALUE having a nice looking site/publication. Good luck! I’ll be praying for you.

Leave a Reply

