03.21 | To The Tower with the Lady!

So it’s 4PM on Wednesday, and I’ve been relegated to the upstairs of our apartment for four hours.

Tick tock tick tock tick tock.

The bug man came and sprayed the downstairs because we’ve had ants lately. Not like “Invasion of the Ant Army” or anything like that, but enough to where we had to call the apartment office and tell them, “Yo, we’re not slobs over here at 1483 Belvoir – there’s no reason for us to have ants. HELP!” So they did. But that means that I can’t be downstairs for four hours still. Something about two headed ant-babies.

Tick tock tick tock. 4:09PM.

My friend Devan sent over this survey about an hour ago. It’s meant to be completed about the person who sent it, rather than about the person who is completing it. I think I’ll do that during my four hour stay upstairs.

Your name:
Where did we meet:
Take a stab at my middle name:
How long have you known me:
Do I smoke:
What was your first impression of me upon meeting:
Color of my eyes:
Do I have any siblings:
What’s one of my favorite things to do:
Do you remember one of the first things I said to you:
What’s my favorite type of music:
What is the best feature about me:
Am I shy or outgoing:
Am I a rebel or do I follow the rules:
Any special talents:
Would you consider me a friend:
If there was one good nickname for me, what would it be:
If you and I were stranded on a desert island, what one thing would I bring?

This weekend, Robert and I are going to North Point Church in Toledo, Ohio to present our trip to Iraq to the church there. I’ve known the Senior Pastor there since I was in high school and am really excited about the opportunity to speak at his church. You can come along if you’d like! Just give us a buzz (you’ll have to get up pretty early on Sunday, though). We’ve seen some great things happen with our giving lately – people giving who we don’t even know in places we’ve never even been! It’s great when that happens because it means that word of our work is spreading – people are talking… 😉 Oh! and speaking of talking! Michael Totten is back in Kurdistan and writing about his experiences there. Keep in mind that he’s not in our city (yet), and he’s writing from his perspective. If you read something there you have a question about, feel free to ask Robert or I.

Tick tock tick tock 4:26PM.

In other Kurdish news, I learned how to count to ten this week in Kurdish. Wanna hear? Listen:

(Angie speaking outloud in Kurdish)  Oh wait, that’s right. You can’t hear me. Here, I’ll write it for you Latini, because I learned that, too. It’s kind of a middle script between Kurdish and English.

(Angie searching for the Latini script on her keyboard). Hmmm… it’s not there either. Well, I guess I could just write it how it sounds in english script, but I don’t think Bob will care for that, too much. Oh well, here goes. yuk, say, do, chwar (that r is kind of a “arah”), pange, shush, hout, husht, no, duh, and zero is suffer. And I learned their alphabet, but like I said, I can’t really share that because there’s no way to do that without just sharing it phonetically in english, only they have different sounds than we do so halfway through I’d be saying, “and then there’s the sound somewhere between swallowing, gurgling, gagging, a “k”, and an “r”.

Tick tock tick tock. 4:32PM.
Tick tock tick tock. 4:45PM.

I think that will be enough for now. Probably there is something else I SHOULD be doing, so I guess I’ll find that and get to it. Have a nice three hours!

8 thoughts on “03.21 | To The Tower with the Lady!

  1. Angie, I love how you can describe something so the reader can picture the activity in their mind. Keep the good stories coming.

  2. Angie,
    How can I say this, without telling anyone that we ever sprayed for insects, but I don’t think that it is a good idea to even stay there tonight. I mean, if or when that would ever happen to us when you were growing up, we would not stay inside or home that night.Okay! I’m pretty sure Angie, that THAT is NOT a healthy environment to be in tonight. I personally would’nt stay there. Come on…that’s only common sense. You don’t stay where they are fumigating. Iguess that I’m sounding like a Mom and a soon to be Grandma. Sorry….it’s because I am. Well..it’s too late now, and you’ve survived your four hours.

  3. Mom. You’re such a nerd. So what, some of the places we lived in when we were little had to be bugged. Get over it! hahaha…

    They didn’t bug the apartment last night. I didn’t wake up this morning with an extra arm, or with my eyes glued shut. I did in fact, wake up. They just SPRAYED some chemicals alongs some counters and baseboards in the kitchen and dining room where the ants sporadically rear their wiry heads (Just like I said, we don’t have an INVASION!).

    *sigh* Calm down people!

  4. Your name:
    Where did we meet: In my womb
    Take a stab at my middle name: Marie (I cheated because I named you)
    How long have you known me: 28 yrs, 3 mos, 17 days and 12 hours
    Do I smoke:noooooo
    What was your first impression of me upon meeting: You are so beautiful.
    Color of my eyes: Hazel
    Do I have any siblings: yes, 3 brothers
    What’s one of my favorite things to do: pray
    Do you remember one of the first things I said to you: Wahhhhh
    What’s my favorite type of music: don’t know
    What is the best feature about me: Your smile and your honesty
    Am I shy or outgoing: Outgoing
    Am I a rebel or do I follow the rules: You make the rules.
    Any special talents: You play the clarinet
    Would you consider me a friend: my best friend
    If there was one good nickname for me, what would it be: Angelalalala
    If you and I were stranded on a desert island, what one thing would I bring? The Bible

  5. So, that’s mom’s take on the answers. Anyone else care to play for me? I didn’t post them intending for people to play them for me, but she IM’ed me yesterday asking if she could and I said, “Sure, why not.” Feel free if you’d like to.

    *She didn’t quite get them ALL right, but this is a personal quiz, so…let’s just say that if I were stranded on desert island, a Bible would not be the most helpful thing to have along. Words can stay hidden in the heart, but, have you seen Survivor? Something about machetes, water, fire? A fully stocked luxury liner? But like I said, it’s a personal quiz and everyone answers for themselves. I think I got about 6 of Devan’s wrong!!!

  6. FWIW, these are my answers before reading your mom’s answers. So, I did -not- cheat. 🙂

    Your name: Angela, aka Angie
    Where did we meet: Our dorm, freshman year at ORU
    Take a stab at my middle name: Marie (if I remember correctly, that’s what Joe always calls you)
    How long have you known me: 10.5 years
    Do I smoke: No
    What was your first impression of me upon meeting: That you are funny, outgoing and intelligent
    Color of my eyes: Blue
    Do I have any siblings: 3 Brothers
    What’s one of my favorite things to do: Pray & be involved with “church stuff”
    Do you remember one of the first things I said to you: DUDE!
    What’s my favorite type of music: Praise & Worship, band music 😉
    What is the best feature about me: Your smile and sense of humor
    Am I shy or outgoing: Outgoing
    Am I a rebel or do I follow the rules: Depends on the situation, I think.
    Any special talents: You’re funny and you can conduct a band.
    Would you consider me a friend: Yes
    If there was one good nickname for me, what would it be: Dude. hahaha
    If you and I were stranded on a desert island, what one thing would I bring? Your Bible

Leave a Reply

